Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Attaché Desktop provides you with a convenient way to access Attaché tasks and information about your Attaché system. There are two main components on the desktop: workflows and portlets. Workflows show processes in a logical order and provide direct access to the individual task so you no longer need to navigate the menus. Portlets display system and company information, and convenient links to recent reports and your favourite shortcuts. Each user can customise the desktop for each company that they work with. Any changes to the desktop are saved when you close the company.

Workflows

Workflows provide a quick, logical way to access regular tasks and processes, eliminating the need to locate tasks on the menus.

The workflows are grouped on tabs according to modules and functional areas, such as Payroll and Financial Controller.

A workflow is also included on the Attaché Fixed Assets desktop. These workflows show typical asset maintenance workflow and the fixed asset end-of-month processes in a logical order and allows direct access to frequently used tasks, eliminating the need to locate tasks via the menus. 

Workflows are governed by the following display and access rules:

  • Company/country – where appropriate, the workflows are tailored to suit the Country setting in Company Options.  For example, if Australia is selected then the Financial Controller tab includes a Customer/Supplier BAS workflow; whereas if New Zealand is selected, a GST Return workflow is displayed.
  • Licence – Your Attaché licence determines which workflow tabs are displayed.  For example, if your licence does not include Attaché Payroll, the Payroll tab is not displayed.
  • User menu access rights – Normal access restrictions apply to workflows. For example, if Menu Access restrictions have been set up for certain tasks for a user, the user will not be able to open those tasks.

The workflow area also includes tabs that provide access to the Document Management (Alex) sign in screen, Invoice reminders and the Attaché Help Centre.

Minimising task screens to view the workflows

You can minimise any open task screens to see the workflow underneath by clicking the Minimise [—] icon on the top right of the task screen.

To minimise all open task screens at the same time, click the Minimise icon on the status bar (bottom left). Click the icon again to restore all the task screens.

Other tabs

The workflow area also includes tabs to display Document Management (Alex) sign in,  Invoice reminders and the Attaché Help Centre.

Portlets

Portlets provide you with system and company information, as well as convenient links to recent reports and favourite tasks.

You can rearrange the portlets as well as resize and remove them. You can also create your own portlets which then become part of your customised desktop for each company.

The portlets included in the default desktop are described below (anti-clockwise from top right):

Default portlets

Contents

Current Company

Displays the name of the current company and its logo.

To add your logo, click the MyLogo graphic to open Setup & Delete Companies where you can add your logo.

Favourites

Links to the first ten shortcuts you have saved.

Choose Shortcuts | Organise Shortcuts to open the Shortcuts Organiser where you can save your favourite tasks.

Tip:  In the Shortcuts Organiser, create a folder called Favourites, put your ten favourite task shortcuts into it and drag the folder to the top of the organiser tree.

Recent Reports

Links to the ten most recent reports you have opened.

Document Deliveries

Shows the number of documents in the Document Delivery (Alex) queue outbox, waiting to be sent.

Click the Refresh icon to refresh the queue.

Click the Open icon to open the queue.

Attaché News

Displays news and information from Attaché Software.

Logged In Users

Displays the number, identities and login time of all users currently logged in.

Click the Refresh icon to update the list.

System Information

Displays information about your Attaché system such as current version, licence details, program and server locations, and last backup date.

Renaming a portlet

To rename a portlet, right-click on the portlet title bar and select Properties. Enter the new name and click OK to apply.

Removing a portlet

To remove a portlet, click the Close [x] icon or right-click on the portlet title bar and select Remove Portlet. (Note that the Attaché Help Centre cannot be removed.) If you want to return a portlet to the desktop after you have removed it, restore the default desktop (see below).

Creating a new portlet or tab

You can create your own portlets or tabs from a predefined HTML source. For example, a website such as: www.google.com.

  • To create a new portlet, click the Cog icon on the desktop status bar and select Create new portlet.  Enter the portlet name and the URL of an HTML source.
  • To create a new tab, click the Plus [ + ] icon on the tab bar and enter the tab name and URL of the HTML source.

Reinstating a standard Attaché workflow or portlet

The Attaché Desktop includes a number of standard workflows and portlets. If you have removed a standard workflow or portlet and you want to reinstate it, follow these steps:

  • Click the Cog icon on the desktop status bar (bottom right of the window) and select Create new portlet.
  • Enter the name of the workflow or portlet.
  • To select the URL, browse to the Desktop folder within the Attaché program folder (for example, C:\AttacheBI\Desktop). The Desktop folder contains the HTML source files for the standard portlets and workflows.
  • Browse to the sub-folder you require (for example, Customers, Suppliers, Products) and select the appropriate HTML file, then choose OK.
  • Drag the created workflow or portlet to the required location on the Attaché Desktop.

Saving changes to the desktop

Any time you alter the desktop, whether by changing the arrangement of portlets or adding/removing portlets, the software automatically saves your changes. The next time you reopen the company, the saved desktop will be applied.

Restoring the default desktop

To restore the default desktop, click the Cog icon on the status bar (bottom right of the window) and select Restore default desktop.  When you restore the desktop, any changes to the arrangement of the desktop or new portlets you have created will be lost.

 

Related topics

How to create custom workflows for the Attaché Desktop using MS Word (tutorial)

 

 

 

REF:  A001352.06, 100517 3.6

Related resources


Attaché Desktop (4.32 mins video.)